Time to Take Action
Our Klamath Basin Water Crisis
Upholding rural Americans' rights to grow food,
own property, and caretake our wildlife and natural resources.


Oregon Farm Bureau election results posted
Capital Press 12/15/06

BEND, Ore. - Tracey Liskey was elected to a second term as first vice president of the Oregon Farm Bureau during elections at the House of Delegates annual meeting on Dec.

Liskey, a flower, hay, beef, and fish producer in Klamath Falls, ran against Dan Goffin from Aumsville, Ore.

Delegate Bob Flowers, who is a friend and neighbor to Liskey, nominated him and stressed Liskey's dedication to the Farm Bureau.

"I know for a fact he's always pushed Oregon Farm Bureau ideas. I've actually seen him argue Oregon Farm Bureau policy when I know on his own farm if it went through and he would win that argument, it would cause him troubles on his own farm. That's how dedicated he is in that respect."

Liskey, accepting the nomination, called the Farm Bureau unique and admitted it takes a lot of time and commitment to work up the ranks and learn the organization.

"As Bob says, one of the things about being an officer in this organization is you do not get to believe in what you believe in - you believe in what is best for the state. I have tried to do that in every level on every decision," Liskey said.

"I will not say every decision I made is right, but I know every decision I made was in the effort to make Oregon Farm Bureau bigger, better and a stronger organization for its people and the farmers in the state."

Third vice president Barb Iverson, a tulip producer from Woodburn, was returned for her second term unopposed.

Not up for election but continuing to hold their positions are Barry Bushue as president, Gary Johnson as second vice president and Anne Rigor as fourth vice president.

Elections were held for even-numbered regions, with all the regional directors reinstated, except for Region 10, where Dan Thackaberry replaced Joann Hathaway after she decided to retire.

- Elaine Shein

The regional directors:

Region 1 (Gilliam, Morrow, Umatilla): Larry Lear of Condon.

Region 2 (Baker, Union, Wallowa): Eugene Hawes of Baker City.

Region 3 (Grant, Harney): Steve Hammond of Diamond.

Region 4 (Klamath, Lake): Lyndon Kerns of Klamath Falls.

Region 5 (Crook, Deschutes, Jefferson, Wheeler): Bob Friend of Sisters.

Region 6 (Hood River, Sherman, Wasco): Lonnie Wright of The Dalles.

Region 7 (Clackamas, Multnomah): Pete Postlewait of Aurora.

Region 8 (Clatsop, Tillamook): Dale Buck of Cloverdale.

Region 9 (Polk, Yamhill): Dean Freeborn of Rickreall.

Region 10 (Benton, Lincoln, Linn): Dan Thackaberry of Lebanon.

Region 11 (Jackson, Josephine): Bill Ryan of White City.

Region 12 (Coos, Curry): Sharon Waterman of Bandon.

Region 13 (Malheur): Dave Bunker of Nyssa.

Region 14 (Columbia, Washington): Edmund Duyck of Hillsboro.

Region 15 (Marion): Bruce Chapin of Salem.

Region 16 (Lane, Douglas): Don Hansen of Creswell.

Young Farmers & Ranchers Chair: Troy Hadley of Silverton.


Home Contact


              Page Updated: Thursday May 07, 2009 09:14 AM  Pacific

             Copyright klamathbasincrisis.org, 2006, All Rights Reserved