Time to Take Action
Our Klamath Basin Water Crisis
Upholding rural Americans' rights to grow food,
own property, and caretake our wildlife and natural resources.

U.S. House of Representatives, Natural Resources Committee Republicans
Congressman Doc Hastings, Ranking Member


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                           
December 29, 2010                                                                         


Hastings Announces Natural Resources Subcommittee Chairs

Establishes new Indian and Alaska Native Affairs Subcommittee


WASHINGTON D.C. – House Natural Resources Committee Chairman-elect Doc Hastings (WA-04) today named subcommittee chairmen for the 112th Congress.  He also announced the establishment a new Subcommittee on Indian and Alaska Native Affairs. 


Article I, Section 8, Clause 3 of the Constitution delegates to Congress the power to regulate trade with Indian tribes, and in the House of Representatives the Natural Resources Committee is assigned jurisdiction over this power.  Oversight and legislative responsibilities for Indian and Alaska Native matters were previously handled by the Full Committee. 


These Members bring a tremendous amount of experience and knowledge to their subcommittees,” said Hastings.  “Each subcommittee chairman will play a crucial role in conducting thoughtful oversight of the Administration’s decisions and promoting sensible natural resources policies that will create jobs, strengthen our economy, reduce spending and protect our environment.


The creation of a subcommittee specifically dedicated to tribal matters will promote increased consultation on legislation concerning Indians and Alaska Natives.   The subcommittee will focus on developing tribal economies and reducing federal obstacles that block tribal job creation and the production of new wealth and investments on Indian lands.


Natural Resources Subcommittee Chairmen for the 112th Congress (listed in alphabetical order by subcommittee):


Subcommittee on Energy and Mineral Resources

Chairman: Doug Lamborn (CO-05)


Subcommittee on Fisheries, Wildlife, Oceans and Insular Affairs

Chairman: John Fleming (LA-04)


Subcommittee on Indian and Alaska Native Affairs

Chairman: Don Young (AK-at large)


Subcommittee on National Parks, Forests and Public Lands

Chairman: Rob Bishop (UT-01)


Subcommittee on Water and Power

Chairman: Tom McClintock (CA-04)


# # #


Home Contact


              Page Updated: Monday January 03, 2011 03:24 AM  Pacific

             Copyright © klamathbasincrisis.org, 2010, All Rights Reserved