Time to Take Action
Our Klamath Basin Water Crisis
Upholding rural Americans' rights to grow food,
own property, and caretake our wildlife and natural resources.

Two Anti-Gun Bills Scheduled to be Considered Next Week in the Golden State!
Monday, June 22, 2009

Please Contact Your State Legislators Today!

Assembly Bill 962 and Senate Bill 585 are scheduled to be considered on Tuesday, June 30.  AB962 will be heard in the Senate Public Safety Committee and SB585 will be considered by the Assembly Public Safety Committee.

Sponsored by Assembly Member Kevin De Leon (D-45), AB962 would make it a crime to privately transfer more than 50 rounds of ammunition per month, even between family and friends, unless you are registered as a “handgun ammunition vendor” in the Department of Justice’s database.  Ammunition retailers would have to be licensed and store ammunition in such a manner that it would be inaccessible to purchasers.  The bill would also require purchasers submit to fingerprinting, which would be kept in dealers' records and subject to inspection by the Department of Justice.  Lastly, mail order ammunition sales would be prohibited. 

SB585, introduced by State Senator Mark Leno (D-3), would prohibit the sale of firearms and ammunition on the property or inside the buildings that comprise the Cow Palace.  In short, SB585 is a stepping-stone to banning gun shows on all publicly-owned property in California. 

It is imperative that you stand-up and respectfully make your voices heard!  Please contact the members of the Senate Public Safety Committee and urge them to oppose AB962.  Also, please contact the members of the Assembly Committee on Public Safety and insist that they defeat SB585.  Contact information can be found below.


State Senator Mark Leno (D-3) – Chair
(916) 651-4003

State Senator John J. Benoit (R-37) - Vice-Chair
(916) 651-4037

State Senator Gilbert Cedillo (D-22)
(916) 651-4022

State Senator Loni Hancock (D-9)
(916) 651-4009

State Senator Robert Huff (R-29)
(916) 651-4029

State Senator Darrell Steinberg (D-6)
(916) 651-4006

State Senator Roderick Wright (D-25)
(916) 651-4025


Assembly Member Jose Solorio (D-69) - Chair 
(916) 319-2069

Assembly Member Curt Hagman (R-60) - Vice Chair 
(916) 319-2060

Assembly Member Warren T. Furutani (D-55)
(916) 319-2055

Assembly Member Danny D. Gilmore (R-30)
(916) 319-2030

Assembly Member Jerry Hill (D-19)
(916) 319-2019

Assembly Member Fiona Ma (D-12)
(916) 319-2012

Assembly Member Nancy Skinner (D-14)
(916) 319-2014

Home Contact


              Page Updated: Tuesday June 30, 2009 03:43 AM  Pacific

             Copyright © klamathbasincrisis.org, 2009, All Rights Reserved