Time to Take Action
Our Klamath Basin Water Crisis
Upholding rural Americans' rights to grow food,
own property, and caretake our wildlife and natural resources.
 

From Oregonians for Food and Shelter 4/9/07

This is a reminder of the hearing on Senate Bill 20 which will be held in Hearing Room D beginning at 7:30 a.m. on Tuesday, April 10thEven if you are not planning to testify, we need BODIES to fill the room in opposition to the bill.

The Hearing Rooms are on the first floor of the State Capitol in Salem.  The address is 900 Court ST NE, Salem.  There are six hearing rooms located on the south wall.  If you enter from the front of the Capitol, go past the Rotunda and the information desk.  HR-D will be the first hearing room on your right.

If you notify me, Paulette will have a parking pass available for you Ė youíll be able to find her outside the hearing room and sheíll be there by 7:00 a.m.

We suggest you arrive early.  You can park at either the orange or gray colored parking meters within a 2-block radius of the Capitol. 

If you donít let us know youíre coming, Terry suggests you park, go to Hearing Room D and sign up to testify (if you havenít already notified us).  Then get your parking pass, take it to your vehicle and place it in your rear view mirror.  The "parking police" don't start work until 8:00 a.m., so if you arrive early, you should have plenty of time to take care of the parking detail.

Thank you for your help.

In addition to contacting the legislators listed below, please send a copy of your comments to the Committee Administrator, Sue Marshall.  Her email address is: sue.marshall@state.or.us or you can fax her at 503-986-1740.

Please see the attached PDF file which is a pretty complete overview of SB-20.   To put is mildly, it would shut down most pesticide applications across the state (the activistís intended goal).  Iíve also included a PDF file with the text of the bill.

Please send this it to a many allies as you can and encourage them to at least show up on Tuesday morning.   Everyone should also take a few minutes to contact each of the Legislators listed below with a short e-mail message asking them to OPPOSE SB-20.   Numbers do count and your help would be appreciated. 

 Senate Environment & Natural Resources Committee members:

            Sen. Brad Avakian, Chair         sen.bradavakian@state.or.us                503-986-1717

            Sen. Jason Atkinson                 sen.jasonatkinson@state.or.us              503-986-1702

            Sen. Alan Bates                         sen.alanbates@state.or.us                     503-986-1703

            Sen. Roger Beyer                      sen.rogerbeyer@state.or.us                   503-986-1709

Sen. Floyd Prozanski                sen.floydprozanski@state.or.us             503-986-1704

Also Email:    Rep. Brian Clem            rep.brianclem@state.or.us                      503-986-1421

Rep. Mike Schaufler     rep.mikeschaufler@state.or.us               503-986-1448

                        Rep. Deborah Boone    rep.deborahboone@state.or.us             503-986-1432

                        Rep. Arnie Roblan         rep.arnieroblan@state.or.us                   503-986-1409

                        Rep. Paul Holvey           rep.paulholvey@state.or.us                     503-986-1408

                        Sen. Vicki Walker          sen.vickiwalker@state.or.us                   503-986-1707

If you have any questions or comments, please contact Terry or Paulette on their cell phones:

Terry Witt: 503-569-3300

Paulette Pyle: 503-559-1279

 

 
Home Contact

 

              Page Updated: Thursday May 07, 2009 09:14 AM  Pacific


             Copyright © klamathbasincrisis.org, 2007, All Rights Reserved