Time to Take Action
Our Klamath Basin Water Crisis
Upholding rural Americans' rights to grow food,
own property, and caretake our wildlife and natural resources.
 

KBRA changes proposed and response re Hoopa letter from Tom Schlosser to Dept. of Justice David Harder

3/12/09

ATTACHED LETTER from Hoopa Tribe to Dept of Justice David Harder: Deletion of Hoopa Valley Tribe from Klamath Basin Restoration Agreement

From: Tom Schlosser <t.schlosser@msaj.com>
> > To: David Harder <David.Harder@usdoj.gov>

> > Cc: <Matt_Baun@fws.gov>; <klamathfish@hotmail.com>;
<mstopher@dfg.ca.gov>; <pete@humboldtbaykeeper.org>;
<abaggett@waterboards.ca.gov>; <alan.r.dale@state.or.us>; Alexandra Borack
<alexandra@friendsoftheriver.org>; Annie Manji <AManji@dfg.ca.gov>; BARBARA
SCOTT-BRIER <ssbrier@comcast.net>; <belinda@kwua.org>; Beorn Zepp
<bzepp@yuroktribe.nsn.us>; Bill Blosser <bill@wrb-consulting.com>; Bob
Laidlaw DOI <Robert_M_Laidlaw@ios.doi.gov>; <brian@nccsp.org>; Bud Ullman
<bullman3@earthlink.net>; Burkholder, Kurt
<kurt.burkholder@doj.state.or.us>; <caknight@jps.net>;
<Carol_Benkosky@blm.gov>; Catlett, Kelly <kelly@friendsoftheriver.org>;
<chairman@hoopa-nsn.gov>; Chris Stine <Chris.Stine@state.or.us>; Chuck
Bonham <CBonham@tu.org>; <ckaras@mp.usbr.gov>; <cnota@fs.fed.us>; Craig
Tucker <ctucker@karuk.us>; <Darla_Eastman@fws.gov>; Dave Hillemeier
<dhillemeier@yuroktribe.nsn.us>; David Gensaw <dgensaw@yuroktribe.nsn.us>;
<dheinrich@waterboards.ca.gov>; <DKoch@dfg.ca.gov>; E. Holstein
<elgieh@yahoo.com>; Ed Sheets <ed@edsheets.com>; <FISH1IFR@aol.com>; Greg
Addington <greg@kwua.org>; Greg King <gking@asis.com>;
<guyphil@ix.netcom.com>; <hotroot2@cot.net>; Hurley, Grett
<gretthurley@hoopa-nsn.gov>; Hytrek, Dan <Dan.Hytrek@noaa.gov>; Irma
Lagomarsino <Irma.Lagomarsino@noaa.gov>; Jeff Mitchell <mohiswaqs@aol.com>;
Jesse Ratcliffe <Jesse.d.ratcliffe@state.or.us>;
<jgeist@co.humboldt.ca.us>; <jhicks@mp.usbr.gov>; Jim Milbury
<Jim.Milbury@noaa.gov>; <jim.lecky@noaa.gov>; John Corbett
<JohnC@yuroktribe.nsn.us>; John Elliott <jwelliott@co.klamath.or.us>; Karen
Shimamoto <kshimamoto@fs.fed.us>; Karl Wirkus <kwirkus@usbr.gov>;
<Kathryn.Kempton@noaa.gov>; Ken McDermond <Kenneth_McDermond@fws.gov>;
<kirk.miller@resources.ca.gov>; Larry Dunsmoor <LKDunsmoor@aol.com>;
<Larry_Finfer@ios.doi.gov>; Leaf Hillman <leafhillman@karuk.us>;
<lyle_marshall@hotmail.com>; Marc Van Camp <vancamp@mbkengineers.com>;
Marc. Luesebrink@Doj. Ca. Gov <marc.luesebrink@doj.ca.gov>; Marcia
Armstrong <armstrng@sisqtel.net>; Mark Rockwell <summerhillfarmpv@aol.com>;
<mary.s.grainey@wrd.state.or.us>; Matthew Bullock
<MBullock@waterboards.ca.gov>; <mhampton@dfg.ca.gov>;
<Michael.Carrier@state.or.us>; Mike Belchik <mbelchik@yuroktribe.nsn.us>;
Mike Orcutt <director@hoopa-nsn.gov>; <nmurray@dfg.ca.gov>;
<parroyave@mp.usbr.gov>; Paul Simmons <psimmons@somachlaw.com>;
<phillip_detrich@fws.gov>; <ptb92day@gmail.com>; Richard Roos-Collins
<rrcollins@n-h-i.org>; Rita Haas <rhaas@co.siskiyou.ca.us>;
<RKANZ@waterboards.ca.gov>; Robert Franklin <fishwater@hoopa-NSN.gov>; Roy
Arwood <rarwood@karuk.us>; Ruben Ochoa <ochoare@wrd.state.or.us>; Sam
Walton <samrw@hughes.net>; Scott Williams <swilliams@abwwlaw.com>;
<SFRY@mp.usbr.gov>; Stacey, Gary <GStacey@dfg.ca.gov>; Steve and Nancy
Kandra <snkandra@fireserve.net>; Steve Rothert
<srothert@americanrivers.org>; Steve Thompson <steve@stevethompsonllc.com>;
<steve.edmondson@noaa.gov>; <STurek@dfg.ca.gov>;
<suzanne.knapp@state.or.us>; Thomas P. Guarino
<tguarino@co.siskiyou.ca.us>; <thoward@waterboards.ca.gov>; Tom Mallams
<brokenboxranch@earthlink.net>; Troy Fletcher
<troy_fletcher@earthlink.net>; Will Hatcher
<will.hatcher@klamathtribes.com>; <karlscronce@charter.net>;
<jill.duffy@co.humboldt.ca.us>; Rita Haas <rhaas@co.siskiyou.ca.us>; Graham
Paul <paul.graham@doj.state.or.us>; <Alexandra_Pitts@fws.gov>; Diamond,
David M. <david_diamond@fws.gov>; <louis.mauro@gov.ca.gov>;
<John_Bezdek@ios.doi.gov>; <sarah_higer@ios.doi.gov>; Simondet, Jim
<jim.simondet@noaa.gov>; Mcinnis, Rodney R. <rod.mcinnis@noaa.gov>;
<thomas.bigford@noaa.gov>; Kelly, Andrea <Andrea.Kelly@PacifiCorp.com>;
<art.sasse@pacifiCorp.com>; Scott, Cory <Cory.Scott@PacifiCorp.com>;
<Dean.Brockbank@PacifiCorp.com>; <lori.campbell@pacifiCorp.com>;
<scott.bolton@pacifiCorp.com>; Weiner, Peter
<peterweiner@paulhastings.com>; <mike.chrisman@resources.ca.gov>;
<patrick.kemp@resources.ca.gov>; <sandy.cooney@resources.ca.gov>;
<todd.ferrara@resources.ca.gov>; <dancebirds@sbcglobal.net>;
<carter.brown@sol.doi.gov>; <diana.enright@state.or.us>;
<jillian.schoene@state.or.us>; <mark.w.kendall@state.or.us>;
<steve.kirk@state.or.us>; <steve.purchase@state.or.us>;
<jraeder@tfgnet.com>; <eileen.sobeck@usdoj.gov>; Swiger, Mike
<MAS@vnf.com>; Steven Richardson <RSR@vnf.com>; <eric.swedlund@wdc.ca.gov>;
<ckolstad@yuroktribe.nsn.us>; Sharon White <SLW@vnf.com>

Hello,

The attached letter to David Harder is of general interest to participants in the Klamath Basin discussions, so I asked Ed Sheets to distribute it yesterday. But I am sending it around since evidently he was unable to do so.

Briefly, the letter indicates that because of the present state of the draft Klamath Basin Restoration Agreement ("KBRA") and the draft Klamath Basin Act, references to Hoopa must be removed from all document versions. This possibility was expressly contemplated in KBRA sec. 15.3.7 and the intent of that reservation of rights must be honored. Hoopa will participate in the next KBRA meeting to determine how that is carried out.

As you know, KBRA parties decided against addressing several key Hoopa concerns when Draft 11 was published. Also, Hoopa representatives have been excluded from the secret talks with PacifiCorp, at least since last fall. The parties remaining in the negotiations must not leave with anyone the impression that the Hoopa Valley Tribe remains part of their agreement. We hope, of course, that that will change.

Tom

ATTACHED LETTER from Hoopa Tribe to Dept of Justice David Harder: Deletion of Hoopa Valley Tribe from Klamath Basin Restoration Agreement

Home Contact

 

              Page Updated: Thursday May 07, 2009 09:15 AM  Pacific


             Copyright klamathbasincrisis.org, 2009, All Rights Reserved